Blast from the Past!

Here is a story for you all…

The World Without a Meaning

Sometime ago, in a land that was forgotten, their lived a princess whose name was Annie. She had beautiful long hair and crystal blue eyes. She lived in a big beautiful castle.

Whenever she asked to go somewhere everyone would let her.

Now, after she had gotten home from holiday in Fantasia she said “Can I go for a holiday to the other side of the land?”

They said, “No! You have just gone on a holiday.”

So Annie went to her room. She sat and cried just about all day.

After awhile she went downstairs. An awful scream was let out. Quickly she ran out the door, into the field, to find out where it came from.

She stopped. To her amazement, there before her was a great spaceship. Suddenly the door opened and to her astonishment a little machine appeared.

It said, “I am the machine of Oz, another land not like this one! I am going to look around.”

“Mum! Mum!” Another person came out of the spaceship. “You’re not Mum, who are you? I’m Jack-Pumpkinhead.”

“How do you get to Oz?”

“You have to fly in a spaceship,” said Jack.

“Annie! Annie!” Oh the Queen and King are calling me.

____________________

Now before you comment about how my writing skills have taken a serious turn for the worse over the past few days, let me explain.

Yesterday I was digging through some of my old school stuff and I came across a book entitled “Short Tales, Long Tails” a collection of short stories by some of the students in 3P at Oyster Bay Primary School.

The story above was written more than 2 decades ago by me when I was just 8 years old (I did fix some of the punctuation but the remainder of the story is untouched).

True, I plagarised a bit from the movie ‘Return to Oz’ which was one of my favourites back in the day, but still it was an incredible feeling to sit down and read something that I had written 25 years ago (oops – I guess that gives away how old I am!).

By the way if there are any people reading this that were in Mrs Potocki’s Year 3 class in 1986 and you would like a copy of your story let me know I will scan it and send it to you.

The good news is that I can say without a doubt that my writing skills have improved over the last quarter century!

The Exasperated Novelist

6 responses to “Blast from the Past!

  1. Hi Jody
    I was reading that and something in the back of my mind made me think it seemed familiar. Why I don’t know, I guess I probably read it once. Anyway, not sure if I should ask or not but is my story there? (I think I was in her class?). That certainly is a blast from the past, can’t believe you kept it. Anyway, keep writing, am enjoying your blogs!

    • Hi Amanda,
      I do have your story! (it is called The Ant and the Easter Bunny!) I will scan it in and send it to you if you like. Send me a message on facebook with your email address.

  2. I love this! I wrote a story when I was about that age, but unfortunately I don’t know where it is unless my mom has it put up somewhere. I do remember what it was about though.

    Talking about how your writing has improved. Mine has improved drastically in just the past few years. I still have some of my high school writing, and boy, it was terrible! I try not to read them if at all possible, but I guess I need to remind myself of what not to do now!

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

