A Round of Words in 80 Days – Check-In Day 3

I have just committed myself to the A Round of Words in 80 Days Challenge. The challenge works on the premise that alot of writers have a life outside of writing (or at least children and a house and a mammoth sized pile of ironing) and therefore you get to set your own goals. They must be orientated around # words per day or # pages per day.

So the goal I have chosen to set for myself is 500 words a day. Why 500? Well it is a number of words that I know I can write in front of the TV ofย an evening after the kids are in bed, but still high enough that it will challenge me.ย I know it seems a little optimistic to think that I will be able to keep that up for 80 days – so I am going to allow myself to word bank.

Word banking means that if I know that I am going be busy on a particular day, I can write more the previous day. So as long as I have 1500 words by end day 3; 5000 words by end day 10; 20000 words by end day 40 (I’m sure you get the drift) everything is good and I am still on track.

So this is the Day 3 Check-In. How have I been going?

DAY 1 – 583 (total 583)

DAY 2 – 514 (total 1097)

DAY 3 –ย 630 (total 1727)

So all in all – so far so good. I hope it can continue.

I hope all my fellow ROW80 friends have had a great first three days. I will check in again on Sunday.

Jody Moller

11 responses to “A Round of Words in 80 Days – Check-In Day 3

  1. Welcome to Round 3, Jody! You’re doing great on your goals so far, and word banking is completely allowable, btw. Also, some of us are not doing word count or page count, but time writing, or even things like reading books on writing and the like. ROW80 is very flexible and you can tweak your goals as you go along.

    Glad to have you with us!

  2. Sounds good! I decided to do something similar (5,000 words per week) because a daily goal just would not work for me. Even a goal for every three days might not work. Kids really throw the monkey wrench in even the best laid plans. But you’ve gotta love ’em anyway :).

    Melanie

  3. Sounds like you’re ahead of schedule so far! Good luck attaining your goals!

    P.S. I love your site banner. Monkeys are the best. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks for the support. BTW my love of the monkeys inspired the banner on my blog. Hopefully you can’t tell that I blue tacked the monkeys to the dining table to take the photo!

  4. I am trying to write an entire novel this summer, I started in June and should do 1,000 – 1,500 words a day. I had some words banked up which is good because this week life has been a bit crazy. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

