Friday Free-For-All – Death of a Laptop

I have some bad news to share with you all. Yesterday when I switched on my laptop to complete my daily word count – disaster. It wouldn’t turn on. Several hours of attempting to reboot, reformat, and reload and it still wasn’t working. So now my computer is at the computer shop to be fixed (apparently it is likely to be a failed hard drive).

So you will not be hearing much from me over the next week – once my laptop is back in my possession my posts will be back to normal.

For those wondering – my last back-up of my writing was last Sat so I only lost 5 days of work. (take a break and back up now ;))

ROW80 goals will definately not be met over the next few days but I think having no computer is a reasonable excuse 🙂

Hopefully I’ll be back before you know it. See ya.

Jody Moller

7 responses to “Friday Free-For-All – Death of a Laptop

  1. I had that happen to me once when I went out of town on business. I was at a hotel trying to get internet access and my laptop just stopped working. The hard drive crashed — there was no saving it. I lost a lot of information that I hadn’t backed up. It was a nightmare! Ever since then I make sure to back up what I write every day. I do not want to go through that again.

  2. Oh man, I’m so sorry. That’s one of my worst fears! I try to back up daily with Dropbox, but when I get busy I let it go for a week or two at a time. I’m going to back up now!

  3. thank you all for your sympathy. The good news is it will be very cheap (free in fact) the computer is still under warranty. This is sadly not the first time I have lost data from not backing up regularly enough (you would think I would learn my lesson, but I’m afraid I am just a lazy sod sometimes 🙂 ) Honestly, I am just happy I backed up last weekend because before that it had been at least a month since my previous back-up and I would have lost at least 20000 words and several short stories! *breathes a sigh of relief*. I might even feel motivated enough to do some writing tonight!

Leave a Reply

