Wednesday’s Rambling Writer – Riding the Wave

This has been a week of high’s and low’s – I have been riding the wave. Let me begin by giving my ROW80 word counts for the past week.

DAY 25 (Thurs) – -3940 (total 14136) – yes that is negative 3940!

DAY 26 (Fri) – 0 (total 14136) – I was too depressed to write

DAY 27 (Sat) – 535 (total 14671) – back in the saddle

DAY 28 (Sun) – 1073 (total 15744)

DAY 29 (Mon) – 776 (total 16520)

DAY 30 (Tues) – 1076 (total 17596)

DAY 31 (Wed) – 736 (total 18332)

That means for the week, despite the fact that I wrote 4196 words, I am only up 256 words on last week. How did this happen? well I had a massive hard drive failure on my laptop. Luckily I had backed up my work 5 days earlier but still I lost almost 4000  words, plus I am without my computer (I am writing this on my hubby’s netbook) The computer is still under warranty and I should get it back in the next few days (I better, or I will be having a serious conversation with Mr MegaGeek from the computer shop).

Plus when all this happened I was still participating in Dry July so i couldn’t even have a glass of wine to drown my sorrows.

So where among all this misery were my high’s?

Firstly, I successfully completed Dry July and as I write this I am enjoying a lovely glass of wine.

Also on Sunday night the ebook anthology from the Stringybark Speculative Fiction Awards was officially released and included among the 28 fabulous short stories, was my very own story – The Soul Hunter. Yes that’s right – I now have my first official piece of published fiction. Hurrah!

And a big congratulations to Jo Eberhardt who also has a story published in the same book (if you haven’t checked out Jo’s blog you definately should, she provides loads of humour and useful info for any aspiring writer!)

And as a brief plug the anthology is available as an ebook (the hard copy book will be available later in the month) from here.

So it has been a great week and a terrible week. But still I managed to make forward progress and I can honestly say that if it were not for ROW80 I would probably still be lamenting my lost words instead of getting on with the job of writing – so thanks to you all!

How is everyone else going? Hope you had the good but not the bad in your week.

Jody Moller

2 responses to “Wednesday’s Rambling Writer – Riding the Wave

  1. Thanks Billie Jo. I picked up my computer this morning and am just in the process of reinstalling all my programs, reorganising my toolbars etc… A few more hours and I should have it all back to normal again.

Leave a Reply

