Wednesday’s Rambling Writer – Tick Tock Flash + ROW80

For those of you participating in ROW80 you no doubt already realise that Round 3 ends tomorrow!!! For those of you that aren’t I will tell you – Round 3 of a Round of Words in 80 days ends tomorrow!!! I am smack bang in the middle of the big push towards the finish line.

So I thought a piece of flash fiction I wrote a few months back entitled ‘Tick Tock’ might be appropriate. It had been submitted to a contest through the Creative Competitor website. Sadly, I didn’t win the competition but I still love the story and I hope you do to.

The rules were that the story had to be a maximum of 250 words and had to revolve around a pocket watch. So without further ado here it is (oh and my ROW80 word counts for the week are at the bottom, make sure you check them out because they are awesome – if I may say so myself).

Tick Tock

Tick. Tock. My heart pounded out a congruent rhythm.

‘The watch is the clue.’ Those had been his words. But I couldn’t see it. To me it looked like an ordinary pocket watch. Ornate, old, tarnished. I turned it over in my hand.

Tick. Tock.

The hands were moving too fast. Time was running out.

How did it come to this? Here in this square, white room, the stench of disinfectant almost overpowering.

Rhetorical question. I knew how I got here. The sins of my past were a series of stepping stones leading to this inevitable end.

‘The watch is the clue.’

I resigned myself to the fact that I would never know the answer, closed my eyes and listened to the last few minutes of my life ticking away.

No wait, that was it!

Time. Time was the clue. Not the watch.

To be more precise, the passing of time.

Time heals all wounds. That’s what he’d meant. He was telling me that he forgave me my sins. Unforgivable as my sins were. He forgave me.

Another tick.

With an audible beep the plungers on all four syringes began their automated journey. Apple green liquid snaked its way towards my manacled hand.

I looked down at the watch, given to me by the father of my victim. A final absolution of my sins. Somehow its presence provided me with strength, quenched my fear.

Another tock.

I tightened my fingers around the pocket watch. It would all be over soon.

 

ROW80 Weekly Update

Thurs – 1031

Fri – 603

Sat – 1142

Sun – 1406

Mon – 1117

Tues – 1214

Wed – 1782

Yes that’s right people, this week I have written 8295 words on Soul Hunter 😀

I was determined to come home at a full sprint and I still have a full day to go.

I will post a full review of all I have acheived over the course of ROW80 once it is all over (probably on Friday) Tomorrow I am hoping to do very little other than write, write, write!!! [except Son has had a temp all day today and husband heads of overseas tommorrow and I have to make cupcakes for Daughters last ever day at preschool, but still I am going to try and write as much as I can]

I hope you have all had a great week and I don’t forget that words written on the last day still count! Oh yeah and make sure you leave a comment and tell me if you liked my story 🙂

Jody Moller

7 responses to “Wednesday’s Rambling Writer – Tick Tock Flash + ROW80

  1. Gahhhh! I just found out that someone was actually executed via lethal injection today in the US. I apologise to anyone who takes offence to this story, it is completely unrelated to the events of today.

  2. Jody,

    Huge kudos to you on your ROW80 progress! It has been lovely to get to know my Team ROW80 members and read all you updates. I’m in for Round 4…how about you? Also, we’re gonna be having a party before the next round. 🙂

    p.s. Thanks for subscribing to More Cowbell!

    • Cheers Jenny 🙂 I am definately up for Round 4 but it will be with a very different set of goals. I don’t think I can go straight into another 80 days of furious writing (plus I am going to be on holidays in the states for pretty much the entire 80 days and I don’t want to ruin my trip!) And I am definately up for the party 🙂

Leave a Reply

