ROW80 Round Four – Let the Fun Begin

Has it snuck up on you too? Yes that’s right Round 4 of a Round of Words in 80 days begins TODAY! True, I thought it was due to begin tomorrow, so I was under the impression I had one more day of rest and recuperation. Alas, not to be, so straight back into it!

Goals for Round 4:

  1. Finish 1st Draft of Soul Hunter –Β Despite my original plans to finish the first draft of Soul Hunter over the break, I decided to have a rest instead so Goal 1 is to finish that first draft (I only have two chapters – about 6000 words – to go!). I am hoping to complete this during the first week (in a little over a week I am heading overseas for a few months and I want to have it finished before I go) so here’s hoping!
  2. Complete ‘Empowering Characters’ Emotions’ Lectures –Β I have purchased Margie Lawson’s lecture packet on Empowering Characters’ Emotions and along with my iCrit pal Crystal Cipriani I will be attempting to complete a lecture a week over the course of ROW80.
  3. Critique for the iCrit girls – During Round 3 I met three amazing women, Crystal Cipriani, Ozlem Yikici and Lena Corazon and we formed a group known as iCrit. I am planning to set aside AT LEAST 1 hour a week to devoted to critiquing their work.
  4. Edit my first novel, Ankhari – I have no idea how long this is going to take so I am going to plan to edit 50 pages a week (but that might change as I have no idea how achievable this will be particularly as I will be overseas for pretty much the entire Round).
  5. Write 2 blog posts per week – The current plan is one ROW80 check-in post and one other post, but with all my entirely ambitious goals we will see how we go.
  6. EXERCISE!!! – Okay so this is the most ambitious of all but the apartments we are staying at in Los Angeles have a gym so I really don’t have my usual excuses. 3 times a week or bust!

Oh Dear! I have 6 goals, how the hell did that happen? I was planning on taking it easy compared to last round.

Are you participating in Round 4 of ROW80? Do you have no idea what ROW80 is and would like to find out? (ps click here) Are you being overly ambitious with your goals too?

By the way don’t forget the ROW80 party on the 5th of October, gather at the #ROW80 hashtag on Twitter. For more info refer to Jenny’s blog.

Looking forward to catching up with all of you over the next few months.

Jody Moller

17 responses to “ROW80 Round Four – Let the Fun Begin

  1. Ambitious goals! Like that zeal, Jody πŸ™‚

    The exercise will be a big help, maybe not the first couple sessions but I did the same in the last round and saw a significant energy increase after a week or two. iCrit sounds like a great idea as well (and you have excellent partner choices!)

    Safe travels once you go but hey, “always as close as the Internet” πŸ™‚

  2. I have determined we need to skype. I’m so excited to start the lecture packet and 6 goals isn’t bad (you should see mine, oops.) Have a safe journey and a GREAT time!

  3. The only way I managed to keep my goal count down is to combine them. Otherwise I would have way more than ten and that just seems overwhelming.

    You have six but it still seems doable. Good luck.

  4. Those are some solid goals, and if they do end up being too much, they can always change. I almost wonder if my goals are too safe this round after I’d shot way too high for the first round, but I’ve been gearing up for this since the last day of Round 3. : ) Best of luck, Jody! You’ll rock it out!

  5. Good luck with your goals!

    This is my first time participating in ROW80 so i decided to take it easy with mine. Maybe if I complete this round successfully, I can try to be ambitious like you!

  6. Jody – good for you…these are wonderful goals!! I’ve got to keep exercise on my front burner too. (And it’s really hard to stop and just do it.) πŸ™‚

    You look ready to PARTY, if that “linky love” is any indicator. See you on Wednesday!!

  7. OMG! Look at all the love I have already. This is the reason ROW80 is the best writing challenge available – there is just so much support among the participants. Thank you all for stopping by and leaving me a message I will try and get to all of your blogs later today πŸ™‚ I hope Round 4 treats you all well…

  8. Wow, that’s an awesome list of goals! All the different lists that include fitness goals are making me think I should’ve added one to mine. It fits perfectly with this challenge. Good luck and happy writing!

  9. Fantastic goals, Jody! I’ve also got exercise on my radar, and I have been forcing myself to get up a half hour early each morning to tackle it. I’m 4 days in, and so far, so good. πŸ˜€

    I’m also going to be setting aside time for iCrit things, and I am excited to get to your project. Good luck as you prep for the move!

Leave a Reply

