Everyone Loves Fudge at Christmas

Let me begin with an apology for my absence over the past few months. No, you didn’t accidently miss my posts. Sadly (or perhaps not so sadly given my excuses) this will be my first blog post in more than two months. The reason – I was overseas. And while I would love to use my lack of internet access and limited time on my computer as an excuse the truth is my two months overseas felt like a holiday and I decided to treat it as such and go with the flow. So apart from reading a few books and completing a very impressive 3000 piece puzzle I applied very little strain to my grey cells.

But now I am back in Australia, and back to the real world where I have to cook and clean and can’t drop everything and head to Disneyland when the mood strikes me. Unfortunately this also means that I completely failed in my attempts at the current round of ROW80. I wrote, not a word, and I haven’t even begun reading my draft of Soul Hunter, let alone begun to edit it. Which finds me here, writing this blog post, trying to get the cogs turning so I can get my motivation back.

Of course it is Christmas so I have decided that as a welcome back present (and because I have had a few requests for it) I will post the recipes for my Salted Caramel and White Choc Peppermint fudge. If you don’t like salt I recommend that you leave the salt off the salted-caramel fudge.

So without further ado, here are the recipes. I hope you all have a fantastic Christmas full of joy, laughter and great food (and lots of good pressies – my brand new Kindle touch is sitting under my Christmas tree mocking me as I write this). If you try the recipes make sure you check back here and let me know how it went.

 

Choc-Peppermint Fudge

395g can sweetened condensed milk

1 cup caster sugar

2 tablespoons glucose syrup

125g butter, chopped

4 drops green food colouring

1 teaspoon peppermint essence

180g white chocolate, finely chopped

50g dark chocolate, chopped

4 small candy canes, chopped

  1. Place condensed milk, sugar, syrup and butter in a saucepan over low heat. Cook, stirring, without boiling, for 10 minutes or until mixture is glossy and sugar has dissolved.
  2. Tint mixture green with food colouring. Add essence. Increase heat to medium-low. Bring to a simmer, stirring. Cook, stirring constantly, for 6 to 8 minutes or until mixture thickens slightly. Remove from heat. Stir in white chocolate until combined and melted.
  3. Spoon into 20cm x 20cm pan lined with aluminium foil/baking paper. Smooth top. Set aside for 30 minutes. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.
  4. Cut into pieces. Top each piece with a small amount of melted dark chocolate and chopped candy canes.

Salted Caramel Fudge

395g can sweetened condensed milk

1 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons glucose syrup

¼ cup golden syrup

125g butter, chopped

180g white chocolate, finely chopped

1 teaspoon sea salt flakes

  1. Place condensed milk, sugar, glucose syrup, golden syrup and butter in a saucepan over low heat. Cook, stirring, without boiling, for 10 minutes or until mixture is glossy and sugar has dissolved.
  2. Increase heat to medium-low. Bring to a simmer, stirring. Cook, stirring constantly, for 6 to 8 minutes or until mixture thickens slightly. Remove from heat. Stir in white chocolate until combined and melted.
  3. Spoon into 20cm x 20cm pan lined with aluminium foil/baking paper. Smooth top. Sprinkle with salt. Set aside for 30 minutes. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.
  4. Cut into pieces.

Cheers and Merry Christmas

Jody Moller

2 responses to “Everyone Loves Fudge at Christmas

Leave a Reply

