FCG2012 #7 – Interval

You know I am always up for a writing challenge (check out my attempt at a piem here if you still need convincing). Well, I have found another. The Form and Genre Challenge 2012 over at Write Anything. The challenge consists of 52 different prompts for the 52 weeks of 2012 and aims to encourage writers to move outside their comfort zone.

This week’s challenge is ‘Tanka’ a form of Japanese poetry with a five-line syllabyl count form (5,7,5,7,7).

Apparently there are many rules for Tanka, some of which involve nature and love and a pivot point in the third line, none of which I have included in my poem (except perhaps for the pivot point). But forgive me, I wrote this poem before I knew about these rules and I like it so I decided not to change it.

 

Interval

Cells proliferate

Lungs curse the air within them

Silence engulfs me

In misery I lie here

Awaiting sweet atonement

 

Hope you liked it. If you did make sure you let me know. If you didn’t, remember I write novels, not poems. As always I love to hear from you.

Jody Moller

11 responses to “FCG2012 #7 – Interval

  1. Pingback: Form and Genre Challenge #7 Submission | Write Anything

  2. Have to agree with Jan. And I’m glad to see that more people chose to go with the strong emotion than the leanings towards nature.

Leave a Reply

