ROW80: A Week Down, How Goes It?

Another round of ROW80 has begun! I had the best intentions this week and was genuinely planning on posting my goals for this round of ROW80 last week but unfortunately I have been busy and sick, so it didn’t happen. But here I am.

By the way, ROW80 is A Round of Words in 80 Days, a writing challenge for people with busy lives. If you want to know more about it please go and check out the website of ROW80 queen and all round champ Kait Nolan.

So my goals for this round include:

  1. Finish the lastest edit run of Soul Hunter and get it to my first group of beta readers
  2. Write an outline for the sequel to Ankhari (current working title is Kaminu)
  3. Re-read Ankhari book 1 in preparation for writing the sequel
  4. Write the sequel (aiming to write 5000 words per week)

Okay, so obviously I am not going to complete the entire novel during the current round of ROW80 but I am going to give it a good kick start.

 So we are a week down already and the good news is that despite a fever and tonsilitis and an overpowering desire to spend 2 days in bed I actually managed to get something done this week.

  • The edits on Soul Hunter are done and the novel is ready to send off to my first set of beta-readers. I am super excited. The exhilaration of handing a completed novel over to someone for the first time gives me a real kick. I can’t wait.
  • I have already started working on the outline for Kaminu, hopefully the plot outline will be completed by the end of next week and then I can get into the writing.

Overall, so far, so good.

What about you. Are you participating in the current round of ROW80? Did you have a good week? How do you get the motivation to push through even when you’re sick? As always I love hearing from you.

Jody Moller

 

8 responses to “ROW80: A Week Down, How Goes It?

  1. Sounds like you have a solid list of goals; 5000 words a week is impressive! I suspect the only way to keep writing when you are sick is to, as you say, keep writing, knowing that you are probably a bit foggy in the head but it will keep your “little grey cells” in shape while the rest of your body recovers. In my experience, some of the writing I do when I am sick has provided me a few chuckles as well as some feverish insight. Best of luck!

    Karen

  2. Eeewww, tonsillitis. 😦 I hope you’re feeling better and major kudos on pushing through the sick and getting some work done! That’s awesome. Your goals are a lot like mine (edit one book, plan another, get a good kick start on the new one), and you’re already ahead of me on the edit part, so keep it up! Whoo! You’re off to a great start.

  3. Hey Jody, always good to read successful stories.. we have to say we haven’t done to badly this week and have achieved quite a bit on our goal front. Being ill and wanting to complete something is never a good combination and can certainly understand the desire to go back to bed… we usually swallow a good 2 tablets of Lemsips Flu Max Power, followed by strepsils, iburprofen and a whole case of sudafed (if needed) – hasten to add not all at the same time… 😀

  4. Thanks for all the support. The most difficult part of this week was actually not being sick myself but looking after my Daughter, who was also sick (she scored the triple whammy – tonsilitis and a double ear infection). We are all on the mend now though and ready to get into the writing 🙂

  5. Great job on all you’ve accomplished, especially with you and your daughter not feeling well! And YAY for Soul Hunter being ready to get sent to your betas!! So exciting!! 🙂

    • I’ve had a rough outline floating around in my head for almost 2 years so it is just a matter of getting it down on paper in a bit more detail before I start writing.

Leave a Reply

