Betty Botter Wants a Better Beta Reader

Those of you that are regular readers of my blog will know that my latest novel, The Soul Hunter, is reader for beta-readers.  A beta-reader, or beta, is someone who reads through novel prior to release to check things like grammar, characterization, continuity etc.

Before I handed my novel over (in addition to holding my breath and crossing my fingers) I decided to make up a sheet with several questions for the beta’s to answer in order to get more specific feedback about my book. So after some research I came up with the list of 7 questions below, which I thought I would share with you all. Feel free to pilfer, pillage and share.

Also, I am on the lookout for some more Beta-readers. So if you are interested in reading a novel about a Demon trying to find her happily-ever-after in Hell leave me a comment with an email address or some other way I can get in contact with you so we can start up a dialogue.

Beta Questions

Did you find yourself skimming at any point in the book? Did you get bored?Did the story hold your interest from the very beginning?

Was the ending satisfying?

Did you notice any discrepancies or inconsistences in time sequence, places, characters?

Was there anything you found confusing?

Were the characters believable and interesting?

Was the story well-paced?

Was there anything in specific that you loved/hated about the book?

As always I love hearing from you.

Jody Moller

8 responses to “Betty Botter Wants a Better Beta Reader

  1. Can I use this list for my betas?! lol Great questions, btw! I’d love to offer up my beta services but I’m writing another novel while my betas read. Probably not smart on my part, but I’m itching to write!! lol

    • Yes Emerald of course you can. I have your book sitting on my Kindle waiting to be read, unfortunately I have leant my Kindle to my sister so I have to wait until I get it back before I can read it 🙂

      • Thanks! I’m so thrilled you have it! I hope you enjoy it! 🙂 And maybe your sister will get your Kindle back soon. (I know my sister has my Kindle too.) Sisters. What’re you gonna do with them? 😉 lol

  2. Heck i found myself skimming PLENTY of times even in the harry potter books 🙂 I would take any comments from that question with a grain of salt. Perhaps worth looking back at the section over but not worth ripping apart the whole book 🙂 Great set of questions by the way!

Leave a Reply

