Please pardon my ROW80 absence

Whether you noticed or not, the fact remains that I have failed to submit any ROW80 updates for the past 2 weeks. The reason is remarkably simple – I have been depressed because I have failed to hit my goals. In fact, I didn’t just fail to hit them, I missed them by several thousand miles. I was hoping to write 5000 words a week, but I have struggled to write that in total over the past 3 weeks.

I should have written my struggles here because deep down I know that my fellow ROW80ers won’t judge me they will support me and help me get through this. But I was embarrassed, as embarrassing as it is to admit!

But here I am, declaring my shortcomings aloud.

The good news is that the major distraction in my life for the past few weeks is now over (nothing serious just an addiction to a computer game – but I have finished it, thank god, so now my life can return to normal) hopefully this week I will be able to get some more writing done. I am going to adjust my goals, however, to make them a bit more realistic that way I can achieve them and get my motivation back on track. So for this week I am hoping to write 3000 words. Fingers crossed.

This week wasn’t all disasters though. In case you missed my post on National Flash Fiction Day check it out here – it details the three short stories I had published this week and how you can get ahold of them. Also one of these stories A Ghost Story is now available free through EtherBooks. Download the app from iTunes ๐Ÿ™‚

And this week I also finally got around to setting up my Facebook Author Page. One of those things I have been planning on doing for ages but just hadn’t ever gotten around to it. So if you are on Facebook please click the linkย and like my Author Page. Cheers.

How are you going? Do you need some moral support or are you still steaming along? As always I love hearing from you.

Jody Moller

15 responses to “Please pardon my ROW80 absence

  1. Glad to see you checking in! I have been buried under work and grading, so I’ve missed a couple of check-ins and have slacked on some of my goals. And I’ve definitely had weeks when certain games get in the way of productivity — sometimes we need a break. Congrats on the flash fiction as well! I’ll be sure to check out the links.

    • Thanks Lena. I am looking for some people to beta-read Soul Hunter for me. If you would be interested, obviously when your work load decreases, let me know. All the best for the week ahead xo

  2. I can empathize. As long as you’re trying that’s what counts. A goal is a target to hit, just like the finish line in a race. Not everyone races at the same speed or at the speed we think we should. You’ll get there. Good luck!

  3. Welcome back Jody! You definitely shouldn’t feel bad about not meeting your goals, I think at this point in the round we have ALL updated our goals and changed our expectations… What’s important is that you are still writing a bit each week! Keep it up and have a good week!

  4. Darn computer games, LOL. For me it’s word search or word jumble games on the Kindle. Oy. They can suck up a lot of time.

    Wishing you a fabulous week and I hope the lower word count helps you get those words on the page.

  5. I’m not part of ROW80 but I did create some informal goals for May and I’m woefully behind! The feeling of missing targets by a wide margin is so frustrating, isn’t it? Travel and a sick baby derailed me, but I’m excited that I got back into my WIP finally this morning and made a little progress. Good luck on getting back on track, Jody!

    • Thanks for stopping by Laura. Sick babies are the worst. My youngest is sick at the moment too. We are heading into Winter here and if the last few weeks are anything to go by I think everyone in my household is going to be sick for the next 4 months. Hope the last week and a bit of May treats you better.

      • Ugh! I hope you all stay healthy! We are now out of our cold and flu season but the baby can’t seem to shake this heavy cold she got in April, even after antibiotics for her ear infection.

  6. Welcome back! It’s okay to take a break now and again (I’ve done the same, sometimes because of a computer game…or two! ๐Ÿ™‚ ) But now you are back and seem ready to dig back into the writing, so good for you! Good luck this week!

  7. I was just over at another ROWer’s site and said the same thing to her as I will to you. Transparency is such a good thing. When we’re transparent with others, they are free to be the same with us.

    My interests are all over the board, but if I had to post on word count alone (not counting my blog), I would have to hum and avert my eyes – pretty much at every check-in.

    So, be encouraged. Congrats on your successes and all the best as you seek to achieve your new goal.

    TTFN

      • I was watching “Remember the Titans” a couple of nights ago and was reminded how motivating music can be. (What’s a movie without a good soundtrack?) It reminded me how much music motivates me. So, please excuse me while I go and turn on some tunes. Keep motivated, Jody. Hope you have lots of victories to report on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

