ROW80 – Week One: The brief version

One week in, well as the round strictly speaking started last Monday I guess we are only 6 days in… but whose counting? My goals/hits/misses for the week are listed below.

GOALS FOR ROW80 ROUND 3

1. Read 10 books and watch 10 movies to keep me on track to hit 50 for the year. Watched – Snow White and the Huntsman (was actually much better than I was expecting). Read – Circle of Flight by John Marsden (the final book of the Ellie Chronicles). So two big ticks for me here.

2. Keep exercising as often as possible (preferably 2-3 times a week). I exercised twice this week so not too bad.

3. Write 5000 words a week on either of my two current projects. 1555 words on Project 1 + 2459 words on Project 2 = 4014 words total. Not the 5000 I was hoping for but for a 6 day week not a  bad effort. I might push myself to try for 6000 for next week… maybe.

4. Complete one additional ‘Spring Cleaning’ project per week. Helped hubby put in the joists for our new deck and grouted the new tiles in the pool – not strictly speaking spring cleaning but took me two days of hard work so I am putting them in here.

5. Try and find some time in among all that to do some edits on Soul Hunter and send it out for another round of beta reading in prep for serious editing. I didn’t even look at Soul Hunter, though I did get feedback back from one of the round one beta readers. I had a good week with everything else so I’m going to give myself a break on this one 🙂

Reading Circle of Flight by John Marsden this week I came across this passage. I loved it, so I thought I would share it with all of you.

‘And suddenly they came out of the woodwork. I don’t actually know what that expression means. What come out of the woodwork? Cockroaches maybe. Mice? Are these rhetorical questions, like I just learned about on one of my rare visits to school? Was that a rhetorical question? Is it a paradox when you ask rhetorically if a rhetorical question is rhetorical question? I think I’d better stop this before I get a headache.’

John Marsden, Circle of Flight p242

 If you’ve never read a John Marsden book I would highly recommend the whole Tomorrow Series and the follow up trilogy The Ellie Chronicles. He is a master of the written word and after 10 books still managed to come up with an ending that was, mostly, satisfying.

How are your ROW80 goals going? Have you started like a bullet out of a gun or are you more of a work-up-to-it kind of person? Have you read any of John Marsden’s books? As always I love hearing from you.

Jody Moller

6 responses to “ROW80 – Week One: The brief version

  1. Congrats on your progress in week 1!

    I am midway through the 3rd book in the Tomorrow series at the moment and loving it. It’s one of those series that I used to look at YEARS ago and think I’d really like to read, but back in those days it was shelved with the children’s books (that was before YA was a genre) and I was “way too mature” to read kids books. Luckily, I threw maturity out the window when I had kids. 🙂

    I didn’t know about the Ellie Chronicles, so now I have something else to look forward to. 🙂

    • I was exactly the same. My sister (she’s 6 yrs younger than me) was still in high school when they came out and she was really into them. I actually borrowed them off her to read them.

  2. Over 4000 words in a week is really great progress, and you’ve made good progress with the rest of your goals as well. Seems to me that you have had a good first week or six days, as you say. Pat yourself on the back!

    Hope this is a really great round for you.

    Karen

Leave a Reply

