I’m Baaaaccckk!

Yes, that’s right boys and girls. I’m back! Long time no speak… well… errr… post.

So, where have I been? What have I been doing? Well, I’ve been enjoying life, last year I spent 2 months living in Dubai, I have taken the gigantic step back into the paid workforce and I have stood by and watched my baby start school.

Oh and, of course, I’ve been writing. And writing. And writing. In the past six months I have completed the first draft of my third, as yet unnamed, apocalyptic YA novel and I have about 3 chapters to go on my fourth novel, 2 Brothers (working title). And that’s where ROW80 comes in.

For those of you that have been following my blog for a while you will know that this is not the first time I have committed to ROW80 (A round of words in 80 days) to help me keep my focus and fight my way to the finish line on a novel.

The current round of ROW80 starts today which means it’s time to set some goals.

Goal 1: write at least 500 words a day until the first draft of my novel, 2 Brothers, is complete.

Goal 2: once goal #1 is achieved switch to editing mode on the apocalyptic YA novel, aiming to edit ~5 pages a day.

Goal 3: keep up with my aim to read 50 books this year.

 

It’s day 1 today and I have already completed my 500 words. So at my first check-in I get a big tick and maybe even a smiley face.Ā A big g’day to all the ROW80ers I have yet to meet, I look forward to visiting all your blogs over the next few weeks and following your progress.

As always, I love hearing from you.

Jody Moller

 

10 responses to “I’m Baaaaccckk!

  1. Wow, so much stuff you have already done. That is awesome. And Dubai sounds interesting. Do you find that the travel affects your writing at all?

    Congrats on already achieving day one’s goal. šŸ™‚ Are your books published anywhere yet?

    • Dubai was AMAZING, highly recommended holiday destination, even though we were there in the middle of summer and it was too hot to go outside! I found Dubai very inspiring and have actually set my current novel there. None of my books are published yet, still tossing up whether to try and pitch them or just go the self-published e-book route.

  2. 500 words every day? Nicely specific. Keep those words rolling! 50 books? You can do it. Balancing the writing with all else? Always challenging. May the round go well for you.

    • Thanks Beth. 500 words a day is my standard go to for ROW80, some days I write it easily but it’s a low enough amount that on the days when I’m crazy busy I can still squeeze in half an hour of writing before bed and get it done.

  3. A little late on this, but welcome back! So many familiar faces coming back this round; I love it. Definitely makes me feel like it was the right choice, though I don’t think RoW80 is ever a bad choice.

Leave a Reply

