ROWlling along

It’s Mother’s Day which means I have spent most of today hanging out with my little monkeys but I thought I would quickly squeeze in a post before bed.

ROW80 goals:

Goal 2: once goal #1 is achieved switch to editing mode on the apocalyptic YA novel, The Utopians, aiming to edit ~5 pages half a chapter a day.

I certainly didn’t complete half a chapter EVERY day this week, but some days I did more, so I think it worked out fairly evenly. I am partway through Chapter 6 and still slogging away as often as I can. In addition this week I have been making character notes for my next edit through (I always save my character edits for an edit run of their own where I divide up the chapters by POV character and make sure each characters voice is clear and distinct) and I have also been working out how to make my Kindle read stories aloud so I can do a final run through using my Kindle to try and pick out the last of the typos (turns out the read aloud function on the Kindle is ridiculously easy and I think it will be really useful even if it does sound like Stephen Hawking is reading me my novel!)

Goal 3: keep up with my aim to read 50 books this year.

I finally finished Beautiful Creatures. I think I suffered a little with this one as I had wanted to read it for so long (Kami Garcia was one of the first people I followed when I joined twitter years ago, and I’ve had it on my to-read list since then) I think I hyped it up too much in my head. It was good, just not as good as I thought it would be.

To all the mothers out there I hope you had a wonderful day and I hope you enjoyed it because, as my kids informed me, tomorrow it’s back to Children’s day again. As always I love hearing from you.

Jody Moller

PS Love you Mum xoxo

9 responses to “ROWlling along

    • Thanks Erin. I have used my Kindle for reading my drafts for a few years now but am really excited to try out the read-aloud function. Just have to finish the edits first though 🙂

  1. Happy Mother’s Day, Jody! Sounds like you’ve had a good one; I hope you were really able to to enjoy the day, and good job keeping up with those goals through the week. 🙂

    • I had a lovely day, thanks LS. Hubby was at work so I still had to iron school uniforms and cook and behave like a Mum but the kids were very well behaved and did their best to spoil me.

  2. That sounds like wonderful editing progress to me! It can be difficult, though truly rewarding, to dig in deep and improve a story. I need to check into that Kindle read-aloud feature; I’ve heard about it but never tried it out. Happy Mother’s Day and have a marvelous week!

  3. My daughter has learned a lot of spelling from that feature on he Kindle, and made some really – ummm – interesting sentences!

    Mother’s Day is mostly like other days, here. My husband is a chef; my kids homeschool. He’s at work on Sunday, and the kids are with me, pretty much all the time. There were moments of simple sweetness, which is just right for me. I don’t care for a fuss.

    You’ve got some good progress going. I hope it continues, and that your week is lovely!

    • Thanks Shan. My hubby worked Sunday too, but sometimes it’s nice, just me and the kids. Hope you had a nice day yesterday despite the lack of fuss and that you have a good week.

  4. Pingback: Creative Paradox: ROW80 Update, 5/14/14 | shanjeniah

Leave a Reply

